Proteus – Part Three

Posted: October 30, 2011 in Work in progress
Tags: , , , ,

The clocks in the UK returned to GMT this weekend, giving us back an extra hour of “painting time”. I am not sure that was the original intent, but I nevertheless exploited it to that end regardless. My painting mojo has definitely been on a bit of a high lately, partly due to the enjoyment I am getting painting vehicles again, but also I suspect because there has been so much good stuff coming out lately from all manner of sources.

Sticking with the topic at hand though, I have spent the past couple of days cleaning, assembling and painting the weapons for Forgeworld’s Land Raider “Proteus”. As I am deliberately keeping the rest of the vehicle quite muted in appearance with only minimal markings and plenty of weathering, I wanted the sponsons to provide all of the ‘punch’ colour wise and really contrast with the rest of the tank. This is supposed to be a relic from the great age of technology and I wanted the Las-cannon’s to look particularly archaic but well maintained.

Sponsons and hull weapon dry-fitted during weathering stages.

Normally I do the main body on Marine weapons as black with severe highlights. With the  amount of exposed detail and power cables on the sponsons I decided to go for a simple ‘naked’ appearance for the metal, similar to how Forgeworld have painted theirs. This helps focus attention on the weapons first and then the silhouette.

At this point the guns have only been ‘dry-fitted’ as I don’t want them getting in the way during the weathering stages.  The Proteus has had the first pass of Charadon Granite chipping done to the paintwork, the next step being the exposed metal itself, the dust and dirt inside the road wheels, lower hull and tracks. The icons and scrolls also need quite a few more layers applied before I can varnish the hull to homogenise everything and the fun part of laying on the mud.

I had hoped to have managed that this weekend, however even despite the extra bonus hour, I didn’t quite manage it. The best laid plans and all that. Nevertheless, I am very pleased how the Proteus is coming along and have not only re-arranged the cabinet to accommodate its girth amongst the rest of the completed Ultramarine 2nd Company, but also started painting it a ‘little’ companion (which you may have already seen if you also follow any of my occasional Twitter updates).

I will show more of the Epic scale Mk I when it is finished. I only started it as a bit of fun whilst I was waiting for some of the ink layers on the las-cannon barrels to dry, but am now giving serious consideration to actually duplicating the force in Epic as well as I really rather like how the blue has come out. That is about all for now, a bit of a short post I know sorry, but wanted to provide at least some update on the Land Raider before the weekend was up. I’m going to take a couple of days break from the workshop as there are a few things that I need to attend to, but will be back with another update during the week.

Until then, have a great week.

Carl

Comments
  1. A little black really does a good job to bring out the blue.

  2. […] Like the Orx Raptor, the vehicle strikes a balance between a vivid photo-friendly scheme and a modern weathered feel. Speaking of which if you’d like to see another great example of blue weathering check out Carl Woodrow’s WIP Land Raider Proteus. […]

  3. Andreas Bergman says:

    Long time lurker, first time poster.
    Really loving the way your Ultramarines are progressing.
    The Land Raider looks stunning!
    I especially love the dull weathered iron look of the tracks.
    Mind telling me how you painted them?
    I would like to try to get something similar on my Necrons :)
    Which reminds me, will we see more of your fantastic Necrons any time soon?
    Cheers // Andreas

    • Carl Woodrow says:

      Thanks Andreas.
      The dulled iron on the tracks is actually incredibly straight forward, it is a 50/50 mix of Boltgun Metal and Charadon Granite. I have a pot of this mixed up ready for all sorts of metal base colours for exactly that reason. It creates a really flat dull base to start with. Ironically it is exactly the colour I used on my own Necrons so if you go back a few (quite a few probably) posts you should see some examples I painted a few years back.

      You will see more of the Necrons, absolutely! I began the Ultramarines army with the sole intent of marrying it up with the Necrons as foe theme wise. As the Ultramarines expand in size, so will my Necrons and I will be returning to them very shortly indeed, so watch this space.

      Carl

  4. Andreas Bergman says:

    Ok now that’s funny… I was actually thinking about mixing metals with Charadon Granite or Adeptus Battlegrey myself the other day to try to get a flatter metallic finish. So now I know that it works and looks bloody great :)
    What came next? The tracks look quite weathered.

    • Carl Woodrow says:

      Believe it or not, nothing else was applied at that stage. It is literally that 50/50 Charadon/Boltgun mix dry brushed over a black primer. No washes or anything, it really does kill the light flat.

      The next stage after that (done after that photo this past week) was a coat of Klear and then heavy pigment weathering layered over the tracks.
      I’ll take an up to date photo this evening and add it to the Twitter feed this evening.

      Carl

  5. muskie says:

    I’m tempted to find a reason to buy a Proteus armored pattern Landraider but I have other stuff on my Forgeworld wishlist first such as the giant walking Chaos dread and a Blight Drone and some renegade Imperial guard. Good work on this guy.

    • konales says:

      Howdy, I am wondering if you have any more info on how you did the track assembly. I have an armoured Proteus that I have found lot of extra space in my kit but not enough to pull a link. There appears to be some odds fits on the top and bottom of the tracks. I am not sure just heating and bending will remedy my situation. I am wondering if you can describe a bit more on your problems when you started. I would like to see if I am in the same situation. Thanks

      • Carl Woodrow says:

        It sounds like the problem you have with the armoured version is almost exactly the same what I experienced with the unarmoured (first variant) one. The problem being that the top link section was too long and overlapped the rear links. I remedied this by heating and ‘sagging’ the links into the wheels to effectively reduce the length front to back. You are right in I think the tracks would end up way too short if you pulled a link, so I think reshaping the links with heat is the only realistic way. You could also slacken off the rear links a little where they go over the large drive wheel at the top with heat too, effectively giving you a little more space to play with. In fact, if I recall I think I moved the rear link backwards and down slightly away from the wheel to give me more room.
        It’s not ideal and I did struggle a lot with reshaping them to get them to fit. I would also drop an email to Forgeworld asking them to recommend a solution as they must be aware of the problem and may have worked out a solution also.
        Sorry I can’t offer much more help than that. I hope it works out for you and you get the links on to your satisfaction, it is a really nice kit all considered.

Leave a Reply

